• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Press briefing of Cabinet Decision taken on 2013-11-29
Signing of a Memorandum of Understanding among Member-States, Observers and Dialog Partners of Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), on Creation of an Energy Club

- the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is a permanent inter-governmental International Organization proclaimed in June 2001 in Shanghai (China), by the Republic of Kazakhastan, the People's Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan. The main purposes of the SCO are strengthening mutual trust and friendship among Member States and developing their effective cooperation in the fields of economy and trade, science and technology, culture, education, energy, transportation, environmental protection and other fields etc.. The purposes of the Energy Club are to exchange views on strategy, planning, policy and investment issues in energy area, develop co-operation and train professional personnel with a specialization in energies. The proposal made by Hon. Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Minister of Power and Energy, to sign the above MoU, was approved by the Cabinet.