• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Press briefing of Cabinet Decision taken on 2011-10-06
Establishment of Diplomatic Relations with the Republic of Rwanda
- Sri Lanka has shared strong ties with many African Nations in the past and continues to enjoy close ties with these nations. Of the 54 African Nations, Sri Lanka enjoys diplomatic relations with 32 States at present. The Government has decided to establish formal diplomatic relations with Africa's newest nation, the Republic of South Sudan. The above proposal made by Hon. (Prof.) G.L. Peiris, Minister of External Affairs, was approved by the Cabinet.